How does your soul express itself?

How does your soul express itself? How does your inner self come out at it’s most pure?

It’s so hard to put in to words something that’s so intensely wrapped in emotions and feelings. One with such a deep, rich history in my life.

Dance for me is…

emotion

fear

loathing

distaste

anger

frustration

disdain

nerves

challenge

excitement

exhilaration

joy

wonder

peace

love

beauty

centering

calm

open

light

connecting

freeing

embracing

Visceral… as though feelings go through every inch of me before coming out in movement form.

There’s some part of me that comes alive when I perform in front of a live audience. Like it’s dormant at all other times, even during rehearsal. Even during the most amazing times in my life. It’s different.

It’s like everything is in the right place at the right time. Even if it’s not, it feels like it. A rare feeling.

Dance does for me what a hike in the woods does. It connects me. Makes me feel alive.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

It’s interesting that since I’ve been working through these health issues, my feelings with dance have shifted. I feel disconnected from one of the few things that’s kept me connected to myself throughout my entire life.

But I keep dancing. Even if it doesn’t feel perfect. Even if it doesn’t feel or look like it did 4 years ago. I keep doing it because I know I’ll reconnect.

And in the meantime, it still puts a smile on my face. Nothing wrong with that.

What about you? Are you doing something that expresses your soul?  I’d love to know about it.

Creative kisses, xx.

Join me on Instagram for the last few days of the 31 Loves in December. Tag me & use #31lovedecember .

* I’m taking the first week of January off the blog to do some planning & refocusing. Be back the second week. Happy New Year everyone! 

One thought on “How does your soul express itself?

Leave a comment